AuthorJulieta Mallari

Central Luzon


Introduction Central Luzon is composed of several provinces, producing varied literary pieces shaped by different languages, namely, Tagalog in Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, parts of Bataan and Zambales; Kapampangan in Pampanga, parts of Tarlac, Nueva Ecija and Bataan; and Ilocano in parts of Tarlac, Zambales and Nueva Ecija. The provinces have strong literary traditions, but they have met modernism with...



Once again, an affirmation of the primacy of the Filipino “trident tongue” (Francisco Arcellana’s term) in full engagement with literary production is at the core of this Ubod issue. Every mother tongue finds its creative expression and its dynamic reciprocity with Filipino, and English is re-creative—these two languages sharing the same climate of experience and feelings of the local language...